Bloody Tears

So Tuesday morning, we were getting the house picked up and brushing teeth, that sort of thing, after breakfast.  I asked Swimmer to put the soaps up from the side of the tub (we aren’t allowed to have shampoo and such out in foster homes; ridiculous really).  Well, I walk away as T-lo is brushing his teeth.  The boys start arguing.  It comes down to T-lo saying he is going to put toothbrush on Swimmer’s toothbrush which Swimmer didn’t appreciate.

So I walk into the bathroom and reach around T-lo, playing with his nose, as if I was gluing it back on.  He looked at me like I was crazy (I’m used to that).  So I told him, “I’m putting your nose back on your own face so you’ll keep it out of your brother’s business.”  He starts crying, wipes his eyes, fixes his glasses.  I say, “you will not touch your brother’s toothbrush.”

Then I see it:

So I freak.

I turn him around, pull him off the stool he’s standing on, and say over and over, “why are your eyes bleeding?”

He wipes them again.

More tears, darker bloody tears.

What on earth?!?!?!  I look at his hands.  There is more on his hands than he could have wiped in two wipes (yet not an extreme amount); but it looks partially dried.  I ask, “What is all this from?”

“My eyes bleeding.”

“They were bleeding before?  Why didn’t you tell me?”  I’m desperately checking his eyes, saying over and over, “why are your eyes bleeding?”

I wipe his tears.  Nothing.

I look more, pulling down the bottom lid carefully.  Nothing.  There is no evidence it ever was bleeding.  HUH?

And then it hits me.

We had had deviled eggs (made with guacamole instead of mayo, sprinkled with smoked paprika) for breakfast.  He had asked me for a napkin for his hands.  I had given him a wipe.  Guess he didn’t use it very well.  So when he rubbed his eyes, emotional because I had “fussed” at him, the paprika stained his tears, I guess. I told him to wash his hands well and try to calm down.

WAY too interesting!  SO much for getting my boring life back!  LOL

3 thoughts on “Bloody Tears

Leave a Reply

